B.C. news anchor Deb Hope appointed to Order of Canada

Hope retired in 2014 after she was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease.

Article content

Former B.C. news anchor Deborra Hope has been appointed as a Member of the Order of Canada.

Advertisement 2

Article content

Hope — who anchored the Noon News Hour and then the Early News on BCTV (now Global) at 5 p.m., as a lead-in to the 6 p.m. News Hour — retired at age 59 in 2014 after being diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. Her decline in health was rapid and she now lives in a nursing home, unable to recognize many of her family members.

Former BCTV news director Steve Wyatt has described Hope as a tough and determined journalist who never failed to bring balance, fairness and truth to every story she told.

Hope is being recognized for her tireless work for charities, which included Variety Club for BCTV for more than 20 years, the Courage To Come Back Group and the Down syndrome Foundation.

Gov. Gen. Mary Simon announced 85 appointees to the Order of Canada on Wednesday, touting luminaries in fields including film, music, science, politics, business, academics, sport and culture.

Advertisement 3

Article content

Other appointments include film and TV actress Sandra Oh and Olympic track champion Donovan Bailey.

“Grey’s Anatomy” and “Killing Eve” star Oh was named an officer to the Order of Canada for her stage and screen success, while Bailey was named an officer for his track and field excellence and philanthropic commitment to youth and amateur athletes.

“For me, I just want to be a great example for young Canadians that they themselves can follow into my footsteps,” Bailey said when reached before the announcement in Vancouver.

“Hopefully, I was one of those positive people who (inspire others to) believe that Canada should be positive and Canada should be confident and Canada can take on anybody and come out golden.”

Advertisement 4

Article content

Film director/screenwriter Francois Girard of Montreal and Angela James of Richmond Hill, Ont., who was one of the first superstars of women’s hockey, were also named officers for high degree of achievement or service to Canada.

New members of the order — who are honoured for distinguished service to a particular community or field — include Toronto music industry veteran Al Mair; former MP Nancy Uqquujuq Karetak-Lindell of Arviat, Nunavut; and HIV/AIDS researcher Martin T. Schechter of Vancouver.

— with files from The Canadian Press

More news, fewer ads, faster load time: Get unlimited, ad-lite access to the Vancouver Sun, the Province, National Post and 13 other Canadian news sites for just $14/month or $140/year. Subscribe now through the Vancouver Sun or The Province.

Advertisement 1


Postmedia is committed to maintaining a lively but civil forum for discussion and encourage all readers to share their views on our articles. Comments may take up to an hour for moderation before appearing on the site. We ask you to keep your comments relevant and respectful. We have enabled email notifications—you will now receive an email if you receive a reply to your comment, there is an update to a comment thread you follow or if a user you follow comments. Visit our Community Guidelines for more information and details on how to adjust your email settings.

Leave a Comment