Calvin Harris’ Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 2′ Has Justin Timberlake, Lil Durk, Halsey and more

EDM superstar Calvin Harris likes to party and he also likes to facilitate the partying of others. In 2017 Harris released his super summer party jam collection Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 1, which was full of collaborations with big stars. Harris recently announced plans to follow that album with Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 2, a new LP with more big stars, and just before Memorial Day weekend he dropped the Dua Lipa/Young Thug collab “Potion”. (Young Thug’s incarcerated status added an unintended tinge of stress and sadness, but that can happen at parties too.) Today, beginning the weekend of July 4, Harris shared some vital information about the new album and more. a new number.

The new edition of Funk Wav Bounces comes out next month and features a selection full of names in bold. We already knew about Dua Lipa and Young Thug, but they are just the tip of the iceberg. The album will also feature songs from Justin Timberlake, Lil Durk, Pharrell, Halsey, Pusha T, Swae Lee, Snoop Dogg, Busta Rhymes, Normani, Stefflon Don, Latto, Tinashe, Offset, Chlöe, Charlie Puth, Jorja Smith, Shenseea, 6lack, Coi Leray and Donae’O. Today Harris shared the second single ‘New Money’, his collaboration with the so hot-right-now 21 Savage.

We’re used to hearing 21 Savage on minimal, foreboding Southern rap production. “New money” is not. Instead, the new track finds Savage hissing over kush smelling like armpit over a lush instrumental yacht rock, complete with a guitar solo that somehow sounds expensive. Check it out below.

Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 2 is out 8/5 on Columbia.

Leave a Comment