Packers release 19 players, renounce/injure 6 others to get roster to 53 players

The Green Bay Packers made 25 different roster moves to hit the 53-man limit by Tuesday afternoon’s deadline.

The team has released 19 players: quarterback Danny Etling, running backs Patrick Taylor, Tyler Goodson and Dexter Williams, receivers Juwann Winfree and Travis Fulgham, tight end Sal Cannella, center Michal Menet, offensive tackle Caleb Jones, defensive linemen Jack Heflin and Chris Slayton , outside linebackers La’Darius Hamilton and Kobe Jones, inside linebacker Ray Wilborn, cornerbacks Kabion Ento, Rico Gafford and Kiondre Thomas, safety De’Vante Cross and kicker Ramiz Ahmed.

The team saw off six players with injuries: receiver Ishmael Hyman, tight ends Nate Becker and Alize Mack, defensive lineman Akiel Byers and safeties Innis Gaines and Shawn Davis.

The Packers have 16 practice squad positions to fill as of Wednesday, so many of the names mentioned above (and below) will return to Green Bay.

Cuts by position

Question: Danny Etling
RB: Patrick Taylor, Tyler Goodson, Dexter Williams
WR: Juwann Winfree, Travis Winfree, Ishmael Hyman
TE: Sal Cannella, Nate Becker, Alize Mack
OL: Caleb Jones, Michal Menet
DL: Jack Heflin, Chris Slayton, Akiel Byers
OLB: La’Darius Hamilton, Kobe Jones
ILB: Ray Wilborn
CB: Kabion Ento, Rico Gafford, Kiondre Thomas
S: De’Vante Cross, Innis Gaines, Shawn Davis
K: Ramiz Ahmed

Leave a Comment