Which World Cup matches are taking place today? Game Schedule for November 28 – NBC Chicago

Monday promises to be a tough day full of World Cup action.

Sunday certainly lived up to the hype, with all four matches delivering setbacks, goals and neck-and-neck action.

Japan, fresh off a miraculous 2-1 Group E defeat over Germany, fell to Costa Rica in a 1-0 loss after Los Ticos opened the tournament with a 7-0 thrashing at the hands – or feet – of Spain. The turmoil continued in Group F as Morocco shocked FIFA’s No. 2-ranked Belgium 2-0, sparking riots in Brussels, Belgium’s capital.

Croatia, the second nation of 2018, put on a show with a 4-1 draw against Canada in Group F, but the result eliminated Les Rouges from the knockout stages after a 36-year tournament drought. To round off the day, Spain and Germany played out a tight 1-1 draw that kept the DFB alive in Group E.

Here’s a preview of the four games in store for Monday in Qatar:

Serbia vs. Cameroon, Group G

The day starts with two countries looking for their first victory. Cameroon lost the opening match in Group G to Switzerland 1-0, while Serbia lost 2-0 to Brazil. Serbia, a potential dark horse team, held their own against Brazil in the first half until the Seleção’s quality proved too much and Richarlison scored two goals. A loss for both sides would hurt their hopes of advancing to the Round of 16.

The kick-off time is 5am ET and 2am PT, which is 1pm local in Qatar.

South Korea vs. Ghana, Group H

The second round of action in Group H begins with South Korea and Ghana. South Korea, led by Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur), failed to register a shot on goal in the 0-0 draw against Uruguay. Ghana, on the other hand, gave Portugal attacks until they fell 3-2 in a match that went down to the last second of stoppage time. The Black Stars will be desperate for a win as another loss would pretty much seal their hopes of progress.

The kick-off time is 8am ET and 5am PT, which is 4pm locally in Qatar.

Brazil vs. Switzerland, Group G

The two best teams currently in group G will play in the third game on Monday. Brazil showed its all-round solidity against Serbia, but don’t expect to see Neymar Jr. and will have Danilo available for the remainder of the group stage due to respective injuries. Switzerland entered the tournament which is expected to compete with Serbia for second place in the group, and its quality will be tested by a deep Brazilian team.

Kick-off time is 11am ET, 8am PT, which is 7pm local in Qatar.

Portugal vs. Uruguay, Group H

The day concludes with a round of 16 rematch from 2018 as Uruguay upset Portugal. Cristiano Ronaldo got on the scoresheet against Ghana with a penalty, and he will try to increase his score against a solid Uruguayan back-five. Uruguay also struggled to create good chances against South Korea, but Ghana emphasized how countries can score against Portugal, even with five defenders in the back.

The kick-off time is 2pm ET and 11am PT, which is 10pm local time in Qatar.

Leave a Comment